Guest Reviews

Guest Reviews

Our guest reviews are all the unedited entries made on our AirBnB,  Stayz, TripAdvisor, Booking.com and HomeAway listings… and so can be easily and independently verified.

 

***** Five out of five

Mark & Chris, Australia  November 2017
We wanted a few days away from a busy lifestyle to simple veggie out and relax. Having never visited the Northern Beaches area of Sydney before, we stumbled over Avalon Horizons and were blown away with both the accommodation and the area. The Studio itself was large and roomy, tastefully furnished with all the amenities that one could possibly require for an enjoyable stay. … The bed was particularly comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water and good water pressure whilst the outlook from both the Unit and the pool area itself were spectacular with views out over native bushland to the beach below and the headlands in the background. It was also peaceful, quiet and private with the pool area for the sole use of the Studio’s guests. Jack and Diane were the perfect hosts, there when required but leaving us very much to our own devices and we would recommend Avalon Horizons to any couple looking for that something with just that little extra.”

 

***** A little piece of paradise

Pat & Mike, UK  November 2017
A little piece of paradise in a very busy world

 

***** Great stay and great hosts

Steve & Sue, USA  November 2017
Staying here at Avalon Horizons has been a perfect end to a great trip to our favorite country to visit. This has been our fourth trip to eastern, southern and western Australia. We have stayed in more than 50 hotels, motels, B&Bs, apartments, condos (and even a burra and a boat) and Avalon Horizons combines the best features of all of them. In Australia you will not find a rental with as many comforts of home or a better stocked kitchen, bath and laundry. Add to that the fabulous view, private pool and Australian fauna and you have a unique experience. The rental has a private entrance located on the pool level. Jack and Di gave us total privacy and exclusive use of the pool. They obviously gave a lot of thought to the comfort of their guests and it shows.

 

***** Fantastic location

Uwe & Patrick, Germany  October 2017
Avalon Horizons is a fantastic location for a holiday in the area of Sydney. An amazing view to the ocean from the appartment, swimming pool, the well equipped apartment with new TV, just a short drive to great beaches and the great hospitality of Jack & Di made the stay to an unforgettable experience. We’ll visit again!

 

***** Exceptional

Steffen, Switzerland  October 2017

 

***** The perfect getaway

Anne & Jeremy, Australia  October 2017
We had a fantastic stay in an absolutely stunning location. The apartment is clean, exceptionally well equipped, offers spectacular views and privacy. Jack and Di were great hosts, always helpful and friendly. I highly recommend staying at this accommodation and am already thinking about when I can come back.

 

***** A perfect way to escape the city

Kathryn & Chris, Australia  October 2017
Jack and Diane’s is so amazing. A perfect way to escape the city. We felt so welcomed and relaxed from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The views are spectacular and a swim in the private deck pool is a must! With so many things to do nearby, Avalon Horizons was the perfect place to spend a long weekend! It was hard to leave. We will definitely be back.

 

***** A wonderful private accomodation to enjoy the Northern Beaches

Kathleen & Paul, Australia  September 2017
The view / outlook from the rear deck was delightful every breakfast time. Views of the ocean and native bird calls from bushland below. If you enjoy the ocean and getting out for a walk in nature, this is the place to stay. The accommodation was clean, every amenity provided and a welcome bottle of wine / chocolates. We travelled to West Head, a 40 minute drive away. The native forest and breath taking views of the South Pacific Ocean are a must see. We travelled to Home Bush Olympic Stadium and Ashfield Pool almost everyday and still only a one hour drive time. A trip on one of the many City Cat fast moving boats into Darling Harbour is most enjoying.

 

***** Outstanding apartment

Mike & Bea, Australia  September 2017
We stayed three nights at Avalon Horizons and enjoyed every minute. Jack and Diane are a delightful couple and nothing was too much trouble. We needed a physio and Jack said “sure Ben is just five minutes walk away,” and he was excellent. The apartment is beautifully decorated with great ocean views. The restaurants of Avalon and Newport are minutes away. And there is a great feeling about the apartment.

 

***** Great hosts and superb views

Steve & Jackie, UK  September 2017

 

***** Beautifully appointed apartment with spectacular views

Dimity & Kerry, Australia  September 2017
Spacious studio apartment with all the amenities and fully equipped with added treats, chocolates, breakfast. complimentary bottle of wine, personalised greeting card. Very tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Swimming pool looked very inviting, sadly it was a little cool to sample. Views out to Bilgola beach and Avalon headland were stunning. Sound of the crashing waves was a lovely way to fall asleep at night. Waking to the sound of native birds starting their day and a spectacular sunrise. Just a wonderful getaway, very relaxing, very private and quiet. Great place to de-stress from life’s sometimes difficult journey!!! Jack and Dianne are wonderful and gracious hosts – Congratulations to you both, this is a credit to you. I will be returning again before the end of the year.

 

***** Superb

Claire & Col, Australia  July 2017

 

***** A perfect stay in every way

Lisa & Jamie, Australia  July 2017
Photos cannot do justice to the beautiful views from this location. Jack and Diane have thought of everything in the spacious studio apartment; the attention to detail is the best that we have seen in any accommodation. The pool and deck are also lovely – simply sitting down and taking in the views of the beaches, the national park and the sea from up high provided the desired rest and recuperation from our busy lives. The hosts provide a perfect balance of enough information to ensure that you are comfortable and aware of what is on offer in the local area combined with ensuring that you have total privacy throughout your stay. We would not hesitate to go back and Avalon Horizons truly deserves the consistent 5 star rating it receives.

 

***** The house was beautiful and the views were amazing

Chris & Emillie, Australia  June 2017
Jack and Di are both beautiful people with a lot of knowledge of the local area. They gave us great tips of were to go and what to see! The house was beautiful and the views were amazing.

 

***** Top notch

David & Geradine, Australia  June 2017
Beautiful spot, stunning views, close to great cafés and restaurants. Top notch.

 

***** Great place to be

Uwe & Brigitte, Germany April 2017
We stayed in this wonderful studio for several nights. The atmosphere, the pool above the Pacific, the stunning views, the tasteful decor and the full-fletched technical equipment made this a superb stay which we can only recommend. Last but not least, the hosts were just great, very kind and caring when help was needed. Great place to be.

 

***** Exceptional

Jacinta & Ashley, Australia April 2017
Could not fault at all, everything was exceptional. Jack and Di are beautiful friendly people and have really set up an amazing little retreat in such a gorgeous location.

 

***** Absolutely lovely… strongly recommended

Cynthia & Bill, Australia March 2017
We have just returned home from a 4 night stay in this beautiful apartment. The apartment was spacious, light and airy opening up on to a large deck with a stunning view. Although we did not use the pool it certainly looked pristine clean, sparkling in the sunshine. The apartment had absolutely everything we needed with the fully equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge area and Netflix on tv for the one rainy day ! The location was great…a quiet suburban street with ready access to Avalon, Bilgola etc. We enjoyed nearby walks e.g. to Barrenjoey lighthouse, West Head, Palm Beach. A great place from which to explore the Northern Beaches. Jack and Di were the perfect hosts with a warm welcome followed by complete privacy. We have already stared recommending this delightful apartment to our friends. We will hopefully return next year!

 

***** Beautiful oasis

David & Katrina, Germany March 2017
Hosts had thought of everything! We are very fussy (think qualia) and for a Northern Beaches experience, this property was excellent and exceeded our expectations. This one’s a keeper – thanks Jack & Di for a wonderful mini-break.

 

***** Perfect end of a long trip

Christian & Katja, Germany March 2017
We were travelling through Australia for nearly four months and enjoyed our last 5 nights at this incredible place. Very clean, friendly people and amazing views… The Sunrise is the first highlight of the day and there are a lot of places to visit in the area. Thank you Jack & Di for a wonderful time.

 

***** A great hilltop home away from home with all the comforts

Paul & Yvonne, Australia March 2017
A great hilltop home away from home with all the comforts. Hosts were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Facilities were of a high standard and comfort.

 

***** Absolutely wonderful

Tina & Brad, Canada March 2017
Jack & Di were fantastic hosts and their attention to details were very much appreciated. Their home was beautiful with views I will dream of for a long time to come! Thank you so much for exceedeing our expectations, we can’t wait to return!

 

***** We highly recommend Avalon Horizons

Brent & JoLinda, USA February 2017
Jack and Diane were great hosts and we enjoyed our stay. The beaches are great and you are very close to towns that have great restaurants. We would highly recommend Avalon Horizons.

 

***** Above and beyond expectations

Peter & Alice, UK February 2017
Wow.. This was the highlight of our holiday. The attention to detail and overall charm of the apartment is next to none. Even though we didn’t have great weather, it was bliss to stay in such a lovely place. Will definitely return soon… Thank you.

 

***** Home away from home

Tom & Cindy, USA February 2017
When my husband and I travel, we prefer to rent houses or apartments with space to spread out. Avalon Horizon was exactly what we needed. The owners, Jack and Di, have thought of everything. The amenities in their large, immaculate studio apartment include: fluffy towels for bath and beach; coffee maker with pods provided; latte machine; cookies and candy; a bottle of wine, milk in the refrigerator; washing machine with laundry soap (there is no clothes dryer but the deck has a clever clothes line); plenty of toilet paper, shampoo and conditioner; and, a small cook top, microwave oven and dishwater. There is a large flat screen Apple TV and a collection of books. The studio apartment opens onto a spacious wood deck with its own private pool. The deck has an expansive downhill view to Bilgola Beach and miles of coastline. The apartment is about a 25 minute downhill walk, by various routes, to Newport, Avalon and Bilgola Beaches (the uphill walk will take a little longer). Jack and Di respected our privacy (their home is upstairs) but they were always available to tell us about restaurants, treks, beaches and shops on the Northern Beaches. We highly recommend this vacation rental. We will be back. Thank you, Jack and Di!

 

***** Perfect rancho relaxo

Alan & Gareth, Australia January 2017
We stayed for 3 nights for the Australia Day weekend and the accommodation was the perfect place to chill out. Jack welcomed us and settled us into the place, showing us around then left us to the peace and tranquility of the home. Jack and Di are great hosts who leave you to it, but have made the accomoafatikn very comfortable and homely. We will definitely return to have breakfast on the terrace followed by a swim in our own pool. Perfect way to start the day.

 

***** A gem

Nick & Sue, Australia January 2017
Great spot, lovely private pool, very comfortable, and provision of basic essentials…fresh milk, tea and coffee. A gem.

 

***** Special touch of paradise

Tony & Lisa, Australia January 2017
Special touch of paradise. Great position and beautiful apartment Impressive on all counts

 

***** Lovely property and owner

Siobhan & Ben, UK January 2017
Lovely property and owners. Great location.

 

***** Fantastic location, pool was gorgeous and the view was spectacular

Jennifer, Waz & Dante Australia January 2017
Thank you to Jack and Diane for making us feel so comfortable and welcome. A bottle of champagne to welcome in the New Year was a beautiful touch! Fantastic location, pool was gorgeous and the view was spectacular. We loved the little finishing touches and having all the amenities to make us feel comfortable… I loved having our own private pool and that view… wow the view!

 

***** Very lovely apartment

Louise & David, Australia December 2016
Very lovely apartment, well catered for all needs. Private pool. Excellent location

 

***** Relaxed suite with a pool and a beautiful view

Brad & Colleen, Canada December 2016
The suite was relaxing, private and beautifully decorated. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. They had supplied us with everything we needed. The pool was nice and the view was beautiful.

 

***** Excellent stay

James, Christina & Jonah, Australia November 2016
Great view & facilities, lovely hosts, exclusive use of pool.
We very much enjoyed our visit.

 

***** This place has it all

George & Patty, USA November 2016
Jack and Diane were very gracious hosts. They went out of their way to be accommodating to our every need. Jack told us great places to go eat and Diane opened her home to us for some great conversation, good food and drinks. We were always comfortable and there are so many little touches that made the place feel like home. The view is spectacular!!! Sunrise in the morning and a beautiful pool to cool you off. This place has it all! We will be back – Thanks Jack and Diane.

 

***** A wonderful break away

Richard & Sandra, Australia October 2016
Tranquil setting with fantastic views. Swimming pool and deck 3 steps from the back door. Fed the birds each morning, some by hand. Very well laid out unit with ALL amenities. We’ll be back for another stay.

 

***** This apartment is paradise on earth

Matthias & Manuela, Switzerland October 2016
This apartment is paradise on earth! There is really nothing at all to complain…amazing view and a location with lots of things to do in the area, super clean, great hosts and all necessary amenities!!! Thanks Jack & Di for this great start into our holidays!

 

***** Just beautiful

Amanda & Crichton, Australia October 2016
As soon as we walked through the door, my husband and I were wowed by the amazing view! Stunning! Our apartment was beautiful. It reminded us of our accommodation in Santorini, Greece, a couple of years ago. It was equipped with everything we could possibly ask for. Jack and Diane’s eye for detail was incredible. There was also a gorgeous pool for our use only, but due to the cooler weather, we were unable to use it.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay here. It was quiet, private, impeccably clean and very comfortable. Should we ever travel to the Northern Beaches in the future we would definitely stay here again and hopefully try out the pool!!
Thank you Jack and Di.

 

***** Beautiful apartment, fantastic location

Nicole & Brett, UK August 2016
In our three week Australian road trip this was by far the best place we stayed. The pictures offered great promise which was more than fulfilled on our arrival. The apartment was spotless with quality furnishings & every home comfort imaginable. After a friendly welcome & a tour of the apartment the hosts completely respected our privacy. It’s a truly beautiful location & very convenient for exploring the local area & Sydney, & this definitely is the best place to stay in the whole South East!

 

***** Spacious, private and had an amazing view

Shamma & Harrison, Australia July 2016
Jack and Diane were wonderful and welcoming hosts for our short little getaway to the Palm beach region. Jack was very knowledgeable of the area and helpful in provided places to go and restaurants to try. Their place was perfect. It was spacious, private and had an amazing view. We were lucky enough to have nice weather despite it being winter. However, with the provision of Netflix on the TV, the pool + view and the cooking essentials in the kitchen we think even if the weather wasn’t amazing you could still have a great trip with these activities. We had a lovely stay and recommend their place highly. I know we hope to be back sometime in the future!

 

***** The accommodation is great

Vincent & Nancy, Australia July 2016
The accommodation is great, very comfortable, clean, furnished tastefully, with a great ocean view from inside the accommodation itself. Jack and Di are wonderful hosts (even their pooch is also extremely welcoming) No hesitation is recommending this accommodation, though I suspect with time it will be difficult to get a booking here as it will only get more and more popular.

 

***** Spectacular views, lovely experience

Alan & Susi, Australia June 2016
We stayed here for 6 days based on word of mouth and it did not disappoint! Nice, clean, with a good layout, Avalon Horizons has fabulous views, gracious hosts and is a great place to get away from it all. Heartedly recommend anyone staying up this end of the northern beaches consider booking here – we’ll be back!

 

***** Perfect place to relax

Alice, Des & Sophia, Australia June 2016
Jack & Diane’s place was lovely and in a great location. The view was stunning, the perfect place to relax with a book. We had a very relaxing weekend away from the city & can’t wait for the next trip.

 

***** Fantastic getaway

Clare, Alex & Elliot, Australia April 2016
We had a wonderful long weekend at Avalon Horizons. The apartment is fantastic. Very spacious for a studio and with everything you could possibly need. The pool was heavenly and the view to die for. We’ll definitely be back! Thank you Jack and Diane for being such lovely hosts.

 

***** A beautiful and relaxing stay

Eunice & Daisy, Australia April 2016
A beautifully maintained holiday house with an amazing view from the pool deck! Hosts Jack and Di are lovely people who greet you warmly and always answer your questions promptly. They even let us check in earlier to enjoy the house with the good weather, as the next day was forecast to rain. The house is well equipped and the pool is very clean. We had a wonderful time, and would recommend this to our friends!

 

***** One of the best places we ever stayed

Joop & Annelies, Netherlands March 2016
The apartment was awesome, a view you won’t find somewhere else. Inside clean and cosy and the pool is really super. Jack and Diane the owners are very helpful when needed. One of the best places we ever stayed.

 

***** An absolutely stunning apartment

Shannon & Chris, Australia February 2016
An absolutely stunning apartment with the most incredible views! Jack & Di were very helpful from the get go. They answered all of our queries promptly prior to arriving and very kindly offered transportation to and from the bus stop in the nearby town since we didn’t have a car to access their property. We can honestly say that this was one of the nicest air bnb’s we have stayed in. Very clean, spacious, the most beautiful views and again Jack & Di were wonderful hosts (they even left a bottle of wine and treats in the kitchen for our arrival!) Waking up to the sounds of the waves and local birds was just perfect! It is at the top of a very steep hill (which is why they recommended a car) but you can still walk to the nearby beaches and restaurants in Avalon, just be prepared for the walk back up the hill! Knowing you have a fantastic pool overlooking the ocean to jump into is a big motivator! 🙂 If we’re fortunate enough to visit that part of the world again we will definitely stay here again. Thank you! x

 

***** A fantastic stay

Nicole & Anders, Australia February 2016
We had a fantastic stay at Bilgola Plateau with Jack and Diane. The apartment was very comfortable and well equipped. The view was spectacular and such a pleasure to wake up to. Loved exploring the area and discovering the local villages, beaches and cafes.

 

***** Everything was perfect

Sam & Carolyn, NZ February 2016
Exceptional! Everything from the bed down to a jar of blackcurrent jam was exceptional. The hosts could not have been more helpful, and the location perfect.

 

***** The most beautiful setting

Emily & David, UK February 2016
What can I say and where on earth do I start? Jack and Di provided myself and my other half the most beautiful setting for what can only be described as a luxurious holiday within a holiday. This beautiful apartment gave us such joy, relaxation and even the setting of our engagement (so if you were in any doubt of how beautiful it is, now you have official confirmation!) Above all, Jack and Di were wonderful hosts and provided a warm welcome and complete privacy during our stay. They are an inspiration to any Air BnB host and a gift to any guest. They should be so proud.

 

***** Coastal getaway that doesn’t disappoint

Joy & Morgan, Australia January 2016
We loved our 4 day stay at Avalon Horizons and it was everything it had promised. The coastal views are spectacular and easy to enjoy from both the pool and deck area, as well as from the numerous apartment windows. The apartment was beautifully decked out and decorated, full of light, comfortable furniture, and making good use of space so you never felt cramped. Jack and Di were great hosts, helpful and friendly and leaving us to our own privacy. We enjoyed full days relaxing at the apartment as well as a few days exploring the local beaches, coffee bars, restaurants, shops and the cinema! A very relaxing and special time out for us, in between a busy time and the impending arrival of our first baby! We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a getaway up the coast. It ticks all the boxes, and more.

 

***** Simply wonderful with a stunning view

François & Helen, UK January 2016
A lovely apartment, newly renovated with every home away from home comfort you could need .. A truly stunning view , and a spot of local bird watching included .. Jack and Diane are lovely hosts , always there if you should need them but a real sense of privacy as well & a super quiet location .. Thank you for sharing your stunning view with us , did I mention that view ? 🙂

 

***** A little piece of paradise

John & Kylie, Australia January 2016
Avalon Horizons offers the perfect getaway. It is a beautifully situated self contained apartment offering a wonderful platform to explore the northern beaches of Sydney and their surrounds. The private pool and deck area that overlooks idyllic Avalon Beach, is simply stunning and the view is nothing short of spectacular. Jack and Di, the hosts, are welcoming and friendly and have provided a fully renovated apartment that is comfortable, modern, very clean and has all those extras that go a long way in making you feel instantly at home. The surrounding beach side towns offer a beautiful array of cafes and restaurants and we can’t wait to return!

 

***** Wonderful apartment, location and view

Tony Mina & Hunter, Australia January 2016
We just spent our summer holiday here. As the pictures show, the view is sensational. The apartment is spacious and very nicely laid out. Our hosts were friendly but essentially invisible. Highly recommended, we plan to come again.

 

***** Beautiful apartment

Emma & Dan, UK January 2016
We have just returned from a weeks stay in Avalon Horizons and already wish we were back! Jack and Di were fantastic, helpful hosts. The private apartment is beautifully decorated and had everything you need including all the little extras that make you feel at home. The sunny deck has a fantastic private pool and absolutely awesome views over Bilgola. It is a great platform to watch the friendly Kookaburras and rainbow lorikeets living nearby! The location is perfect for exploring the Northern beaches but also Sydney is just under an hours drive away. We would definitely recommend and would love to return one day. Thanks!

 

***** An amazing experience

Diane & Gordon, UK December 2015
What an amazing experience staying at Avalon Horizons. Fantastic apartment and stunning views. Our Hosts Jack and Di were fantastic! Very attentive and their responses and communications excelled. Their attention to detail was second to none. The apartment is immaculate and thoughtfully equipped – they think of everything you might need away from home. We cannot recommend highly enough.

 

***** We highly recommend this apartment

Yvonne & Peter, Australia December 2015
Avalon Horizons not only has the most amazing views, the apartment lacks nothing. Jack and Dianne are wonderful hosts and have ensured that the apartment has everything you could possibly need. We highly recommend a visit to the northern beaches and Avalon Horizons is without doubt the place to stay. Thank you Jack and Dianne for sharing your beautiful views with us. Regards Yvonne and Peter

 

***** A great place to stay

Kevin & Michele, Singapore November 2015
Jack and Di made us feel very welcome. Their apartment is set up with everything and a little more that you could want, some excellent touches. This alone makes it a great place to stay, but throw in the views and pool…

 

***** Nothing finer on the Northen Beaches

Som & Jay, Australia November 2015
We have traveled abroad extensively and this property is hard to beat. Jack & Di are lovely hosts, and the room is very private. All the convenience of home but the luxury and appeal of a luxury hotel, and lets not forget that view!

 

***** Outstanding

Carol & Frank, Australia November 2015
This property is outstanding. The photos do not do it justice… it is better than it looks. You will never tire of the view and all the facilities you could possibly want are at your fingertips. Apart from that, your hosts are very personable and make the stay that much more enjoyable.

 

***** Honeymooner’s paradise

Kate & Chris, Australia October 2015
My husband and I organised a mini honeymoon for a few nights at Avalon Horizons after getting married on the Saturday at Palm Beach. It was the perfect get away to have some time to reflect and relax together. The place was clean, spacious and the view was breathtaking. Even though we live on the beaches ourselves, we were still blown away by the view each day, and how far you could see up the coastline. Having the kitchen facilities was great as we didn’t need to even leave the place if we didn’t feel like it. Although I do recommend going out to do the trail walks down to the beaches at least once. The pool was beautiful and nice and private. The place was quiet, peaceful and private. An added bonus was the Netflix!! We had a wonderful time and Jack and Dianne were fantastic hosts, and answered all emails and questions promptly and kindly. We can’t thank them enough.

 

***** Perfect weekend away

Kirsty & Chase, Australia October 2015
We stayed at Avalon Horizons during the October Long Weekend for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. It is a clean, well presented home away from home located a within a 2 minute drive to the beach. The things we loved most about this property was the spectacular view out to Bilgola Beach and over to the Central Coast (sunrise is amazing), the sound of the ocean in the morning and the added little touches including the beers and a bottle of wine in the fridge ready for us, the coffee machine and Apple TV. Jack and Di are lovely host and were great to deal with.
We can’t wait to come back!

 

***** Glorious get-a-way… “A home away from home!”

Greg & Tanya, Australia October 2015
Forget about anything else in Avalon… Jack & Di’s modern and stylish apartment ticks all the boxes!
Feel at home – It’s the ‘little’ things that make a ‘big’ difference during a get-a-way. Jack & Di make you feel very special on arrival. Feel at home with fresh fruit and flowers, yummy chocolates, cold beverages in the fridge, as well as other ‘homely’ surprises in all cupboards.
Stimulate your senses – Feel the warmth of the timber deck as it massages your bare feet ; be hypnotised by the breath-takingly beautiful views ; listen to the frivolity of the local fauna ; fill your lungs with the fresh, crisp coastal air ; be entertained by your favourite movies and TV Series by combining Apple TV with fast and free wireless internet.
Explore your surroundings with confidence – Jack & Di’s friendly, local knowledge is invaluable when deciding ‘what’ to see and ‘where’ to eat.
A special apartment… hosted by special people… in a special part of the world.
My wife and I can’t wait to return!

 

*****  Beautiful location and fantastic accommodation

Anne & Isabel, Australia  October 2015
As soon as we walked into this modern spacious unit, our breath was taken away by the stunning views from all windows. Everything you could possibly want for a holiday is provided in this unit – from sparkling clean pool to a huge range of movies on Netflix and more, wifi, large fluffy towels for pool and bathroom, all those little kitchen supplies you forget to bring with you and a wonderful reverse cycle airconditioner. The list is long!

You will find the best information book on the coffee table with an impressive range of menus, reviews, activities and suggestions provided by the owners. There are many restaurants nearby to cater to all tastes, many with beautiful views. We particularly enjoyed dining at The Boathouse in Palm Beach (for casual seaside gourmet breakfast and lunch) and Yoda Food in Avalon Beach (Asian street food). 

Jack and Di are very friendly and helpful hosts, who do all they can to make their guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible.

 

*****  This holiday was perfect

Scott & Joseph, USA August 2015
Your accommodation can make or break your entire holiday. Thanks to Jack & Diane, this holiday was perfect. Their attention to detail completes their lovely apartment with its stunning views. The proximity to the city is perfect: close enough to access it and far enough to escape it. Well done!

 

*****  Can not rate it highly enough

Nina & John, Australia July 2015
We absolutely loved our stay at Jack and Di’s place – can not rate it highly enough!! Perfect location, views are amazing, apartment is spacious and private and equipped with everything you need. Jack and Di really went over and above to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. Bilgola is a very special part of the world and we will certainly be back for another trip to stay at Jack and Di’s place again!

 

*****  Just wow

Sarah & Nick, Australia July 2015
Fantastic apartment. Spotlessly clean, loads of thoughtful little extra touches. Jack and Di were the perfect hosts, helpful and very respectful of your privacy. Not to mention the view – just wow! Would definitely go back.

 

*****  Excellent accommodation and facilities

James & Kylie, Australia June 2015
Excellent accommodation and facilities. Could not find a fault with the unit. Highly recommended visiting this Avalon hideaway!

 

*****  A haven on the Northern Beaches

Maebh & Paul, Ireland/Australia June 2015
Jack and Diane were exceptional hosts. The property was immaculately presented. The view from the deck is nothing short of spectacular. Avalon has a lovely buzz about it and there are scenic bush walks in both directions along the coast. A throughly enjoyable weekend.

 

*****  Immaculate studio… beautifully appointed

Ruth & Dick, USA April 2015
Immaculate studio apartment with simply breathtaking views of Bilgola Beach headland and Pittwater to the north. Gracious hosts Jack and Diane Franken pay meticulous attention to the needs of their guests, with thoughtful touches throughout. We had a wonderful stay and recommend this property with hesitation – we hope to stay again soon! The local food scene is extensive also; you can dine on anything from simple fish and chips to gourmet restaurants, all within a short drive. Elegant apartment, beautifully appointed; we’re so happy to have made this accommodation decision.

 

*****  Excellent relaxing accommodation

Amanda & Brad, Australia April 2015
Excellent relaxing accommodation on the northern beaches. Jack & Di have created a welcoming, well thought out apartment. The view is amazing to wake up to every morning by the pool. So close to Avalon shops & the beach. Everything you need for a comfortable stay when away from home. We will be staying here on our next visit to Sydney.

 

*****  Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Aneka & Nolan, Australia April 2015
]ack and Di were very welcoming hosts that made my partner and I feel right at home for the whole three nights that we stayed in the apartment. Such a neat, tidy and comfortable space that had everything we needed for our stay. The location was great, lovely view outside on the deck, plenty of beach options to choose from, and the place was only a short distance to Avalon shops which is good for a walk around. Jack and Di also gave us some really great food recommendations around the area that left us satisfied every time. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again one day!

 

*****  Just lovely!

Jason & Chantelle, Australia March 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break at Avalon Horizons! Lovely property, gorgeous views and thoughtful yet discrete hosts.

 

*****  The jewel in Avalon – Spectacular in every way

Steve & Angie, UK March 2015
The views are spectacular, the apt is stylish & well appointed. The owners welcoming and friendly and give you as much privacy as one requires. The pool is well maintained and exclusive. I would highly recommend this property and we will be back.

 

*****  Heaven on earth

Christine & Roger, UK March 2015
Jack and Diane’s apartment was ‘heaven on earth’ for us. It fulfilled every promise,was fully equipped and the tranquil pool outside was just for our use.Many thanks to our helpful but discrete hosts.

 

*****  Slice of paradise

Rachel, Australia Feb 2015
Amazing views, fabulous location, everything you could possibly need. Would have loved to stay longer!!

 

*****  Absolute gem

Lucy, UK Feb 2015
My first ever experience of Airbnb and I loved it! Jack & Diane are the sweetest and generous hosts ever. i felt like part of the family during my stay, it’s such an breathtaking view! Just as u see it in the photos. Glad I booked this location in the northern beaches and will be back to soak up more rays soon! but most defo will rent a car next time as to have more chance to visit further afield. Many thanks guys for a terrific week of Bilgola Livin’ Luved every moment, but went too quickly 🙂

 

*****  Impeccable

Pat & Ray, Australia Feb 2015
Although we have stayed in many B & B’s overseas and in Australia we have never found one we liked so much. It was not only the views over the trees and the sea but also nothing had been forgotten to make our stay most comfortable. We will certainly look forward to coming again and recommending it to our friends.

 

*****  Excellent venue and hosts

Tom, Australia Feb 2015
Myself and my wife stayed for 2 nights for a brief getaway, and when we arrived we were met with the most welcoming hosts, the best view on the street, and our own pool. And a bottle of white wine ready to go on the dining table! Excellent venue and hosts. Have already given the details out to friends and we plan to visit again.

 

*****  A lovely place

Sarah & Ty, USA Jan 2015
I wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed staying at your place in Jan. We stay in lots of rentals and your place was particularly beautiful, quiet, spacious views, and in a great location. And I so appreciated the responsiveness in emails.

 

*****  A perfect hideaway

John & Benita, UK Jan 2015
This place is even better than the pictures on the owners’ web site would suggest. A beautiful and quiet location, plenty of room, a high degree of privacy, and a pleasant walk down through a wooded hillside to the beach. What more could you want? We stayed for 11 nights and were very reluctant to leave.

 

*****  Lovely place with lots of extras

Mary & Roy, Australia Dec 2014 – Jan 2015
Had a great stay. Couldn’t wish for more, and Jack and Di are wonderful hosts.

 

*****  Wonderful, well situated apartment

Ian & Sophie, UK and France Jan 2015
We stayed at Avalon Horizons for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. The facilities, location and cleanliness were all faultless. Jack and Di were great hosts providing excellent customer service at all times. There’s plenty to see and do in the area and within easy reach of Sydney. The northern beaches are a beautiful area. We would happily recommend this apartment without hesitation at all.

 

*****  Great place to stay

Shannon & Tony, Australia Dec 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away at this lovely place, it is very clean, has everything you need and a nice view to the sea. Jack & Di were very helpful, thank you! The pool was great!

 

*****  A hidden gem

Lucia, Thailand Nov 2014
What a fabulous place to be in the world. Jack and Diane are perfect hosts and have thought of literally everything to make this apartment the ideal setting to enjoy what nature and good community have to offer. A warm welcome and a lovely Australian red was the perfect arrival after a long international flight; while discreet both Jack and Di were there in case of any query, and my five days flew by all too fast.. It truly felt as comfortable as being at ‘home’ with all the extras! Thank you both again.. I am already planning my next visit.

 

*****  Avalon Horizons – a special place

Sheila & Rob, Wales UK Dec 2014
We spent a week at Avalon Horizons & found it a special place with peace, quiet, comfort & amazing views. Every thing provided had been thought out with care, it was more like a home than a holiday let. There was even more to discover when we arrived… a large deck with our own private pool !! Thank you Jack & Di, we loved it.

 

*****  The views really are spectacular

Judith & Ed, UK Nov 2014
We had a most enjoyable 4 night stay at Avalon Horizons. The views really are spectacular. The deck and pool get the sun almost all day and the inside is very spacious and well presented. Jack and Diane made us feel very welcome and ensured that we had everything we wanted. Thank you for a great time.

 

*****  We had a fantastic time

Hugh & Airlie, Australia Nov 2014
Jack and Diane hosted my girlfriend and I for three nights and we had a fantastic time. On arrival we were shown around by Jack and given a bottle of champagne, then completely left to our own devices. The accommodation is a tastefully furnished, self-contained flat with everything you need PLUS a private deck and pool with sensational views over Avalon and up to Palm Beach. We would definitely come back!

 

*****  Even more beautiful than the photos

Tara & Chris, Australia Nov 2014
Jack and Diane’s place is even more beautiful than the photos! The view is stunning and the apartment is very well appointed. They have gone to a lot of trouble to make guests feel welcome – providing everything from toiletries to local restaurant menus. They were also very generous and gave us a bottle of sparkling for our wedding anniversary. Jack and Diane were also very respectful of our privacy. We often forgot they lived upstairs. The apartment has private access (separate to the main house), so the only time we saw them was when we needed something. The local area is very relaxed and has a fabulous array of restaurants and cafes. Palm Beach and Whale Beach are only a short drive down the road, whilst Bilgola Beach and Avalon Beach are an easy walk away. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting a relaxing getaway and we would not hesitate in booking again ourselves.

 

*****  Breathtaking views!

Stephanie & Brendan Australia 2014
My fiancé and I stayed 3 nights for our anniversary and absolutely loved it. The apartment was great and had everything we needed, including a private balcony with a pool that had an amazing view! It was lovely waking up to the sun rising over the water. We definitely recommend it and can’t wait to go back! Thanks Jack & Di!

 

*****  The most beautiful views

Marc & Delila, Australia Aug 2014
Jack and Diane have the best place with the most beautiful views. From small gadgets to great hospitality, my wife and I had a wonderful first anniversary and would certainly visit again.

 

*****  The apartment is stunning

Fiona & Natalie, UK Aug 2014
What an amazing place!!! Jack and Di are the perfect hosts. The apartment is stunning and the views are breathtaking. My friend and I were sad to only be staying one night and we already want to return – it is a great place for a base to see the northern beaches. I would definitely highly recommend a stay here!

 

*****  Just breathtaking

Loulou & Ben, Australia July 2014
What a lovely weekend break away! The apartment has everything you could need. Netflix was a highlight when we wanted to chill out with a movie. The balcony view is just breathtaking. The kitchen is compact but has everything you need to cook simple meals, and the BBQ is there too. A short 10 min stroll to the beach through the bush. Jack and Diane were wonderfully informative hosts, but left us to it otherwise. It was the perfect spot for us!

 

*****  A beautiful part of the world

Craig & Sandra, Australia July 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Jack and Dianne’s private pad in Bilgola Heights. The accommodation was as expected: modern, clean and equipped with everything we needed. We enjoyed breakfast on the sunny deck and the great views. Jack was a friendly, helpful host and gave us some good eating out recommendations. We also enjoyed our privacy and the serenity of the place. We ventured out and about with some long walks up to the Barrenjoey light house and a walk around the coast from Avalon beach to Newport Beach. A beautiful part of the world with Pittwater on one side and the ocean on the other.

 

*****  Amazing views

Andrea & Henry, Australia June 2014
The apartment is beautiful with amazing views. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend staying here. Jack and Diane were beautiful hosts.

 

*****  A little ditty ’bout Jack & Diane

Leilani & Matty,  Australia May 2014
A little ditty ’bout Jack & Diane….it goes something like this: Fab location, wonderful hosts, private and quiet apartment had all we needed for a peaceful long weekend with extras – we could cook for ourselves, watch fab flicks & explore stunning views along the many walking tracks. Great value too. We’ve already recommended staying to friends!

 

*****  Heaven on earth

Camilla & Nic, UK April 2014
There aren’t enough words to describe this place! Avalon Horizons is absolutely stunning! We have had the most memorable and incredible holiday, the apartment and Jack and Diane were absolutely amazing hosts and made us feel incredibly welcome. The apartment is incredibly comfortable with every amenity you could ever need. We were greeted with fabulous fresh pastries and champagne and the incredible view! Jack and Diane have thought about everything when it comes to this apartment and have amazing recommendations for things to do, see and eat! This was invaluable especially to avoid tourist traps! I highly recommend this apartment to anyone looking to experience Sydney and the northern beaches and beyond! We have had a life changing trip and Avalon Horizons was a huge part of that! We will be back! Already checking flights!!!!

 

*****  Beautifully furnished, comfortable and immaculate

Carolynn and James, Australia  April 2014
We loved our stay at Avalon Horizons, it was beautifully furnished, comfortable and immaculate and had everything we needed for our stay. The pool and deck were fabulous to spend time taking in the view and relaxing. Thanks to great hosts Jack and Diane who were very helpful.

 

*****  This was a great experience

James and Judy, Australia  March 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed two consecutive weekend stays at Avalon Horizons. Jack and Dianne go out their way to make your stay the best possible experience. Little touches like champagne on arrival, condiments, coffee, umbrellas etc make a seamless transition from home to holiday. The Northern Beaches area at Sydney has a special terrain to go with swimming, surfing, trekking, kayaking and boating activities. In addition, we found a restaurant in Avalon Beach which was first class. For us this was a great experience and we would definitely like to do it again.

 

*****  Avalon Horizons is a dream

Ursula and Horst, Germany  Feb 2014
We (65 and 59) are a German couple and stayed in AH for about 3 weeks. It`s a remarkable place, a fantastic view on the see, a well equipped appartment in all aspects with very helpful Hosts. Our privacy was always respected, using the pool was exquisit for us and it was a great pleasure to do.Whenever we needed help or tipps (we were in Australia for the first time) our Hosts were helpful. If we come back, we will take this appartment again. There is no doubt at all that we can make a recommendation for Avalon Horizons.

 

*****  All expectations met

Karen, New Zealand  Feb 2014
My mother and I spent a fabulous week at Avalon Horizons recently. We enjoyed the private, yet spectacular outlook, with a pool deck and wide ocean views. The accommodation was fresh and clean, and newly decorated in keeping with the setting.Everything was in perfect working order, from the Apple TV & fast Wifi, through to the kitchen appliances, curtains & blinds and bathroom appointments. There was a user manual, with clear instructions for everything. Jack and Diane were perfect hosts, available for help and advice, but totally respectingour privacy. At the end of our holiday it felt like we had made new friends, and we will definitely visit again. I thoroughly recommend Avalon Horizons.

 

*****  Fabulous apartment

Jose, China  Dec 2013
What a wonderful apartment on an absolutely perfect spot. Fully equipped, clean and contemporary furnished (new bathroom) though cosy studio with great terrace with super pool. Lovely owners who renovated it recently with great care.

 

*****  Amazing accommodation

Mark, Australia  Jan 2014
We stayed at Jack and Diane’s apartment over the New Year period.The apartment was in a great, quiet location with only a short stroll to the beach. The apartment was in immaculate condition and very clean. The apartment contained all amenities necessary for a comfortable stay. I highly recommend this apartment to anyone considering it, Jack and Diane are also the perfect hosts. We will definintely be back for another stay.

 

*****  Fabulous property with stunning Pacific Ocean view

Matthew, Australia  Dec 2013
Jack and Diane’s place is exactly as described and the photos truly represent the accommodation. It is very clean and well appointed with everything you need for a relaxing holiday or a few days escape from the city .  The stunning view speaks for itself and the location midway between Avalon and Newport offers a lot of choice of restaurants and shops as well as sitting high on the hills directly above Bilgola Beach one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.  For visitors from overseas the famous Palm Beach is only a five minute drive.   The hosts are friendly and helpful and concerned that you enjoy your time there.   The wireless and entertainment systems are all state of the art, so in the unlikely even it is raining you can keep occupied.   Overall this is a chance to spend some time in paradise at a very reasonable price.

 

*****  A perfect hide-away

Judy, Hong Kong  Feb 2014
Jack & Di’s place is a perfect hide-away for a city person like myself. It’s quiet, with a great view yet close to beaches, supermarkets & restaurants. I enjoyed having breakfast, sun-bathing, reading a book or just dreamed myself away on the deck! The apartment is well equipped with everything you need. Jack & Diane are great hosts. Thank you! Will sure come again for another stay.

 

*****  The place is absolutely beautiful

Uwe, Germany  Jan 2014
I had a lovely time staying at Jack & Diane’s apartment. The place is absolutely beautiful and ideally located for holiday and doing business in Sydney. Jack & Diane are perfect hosts. I’ll definitely stay again. Thank you very much!